With the average house price in the UK soon crossing £300,000, taking out a mortgage becomes the only choice of ever more homeowners, a dream coming true for mortgage agencies and brokers, who “only” need quality leads to thrive.
Speaking of which, buying qualified leads and phone calls might be the best strategy for aspiring lenders and brokers who cannot or don’t want to generate organic traffic. Truth be told, the competition is quite tough, not letting you thrive unless you have something exceptional to offer.
Source: Statista
So if you need mortgage leads here and now, you can simply buy them from lead agencies. And why not? These are qualified leads that match your ideal buyer profile.
Without any further ado, let’s explore the 11 best platforms to buy mortgage leads in the UK.
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
811,782 | 2 | 71 | 0.57 | 24.34% | 71% | 0.15% | 3.36% | 0.06% | 0.43% |
Unbiased is one of the biggest lead generators and online marketplaces for financial advisors, mortgage and insurance brokers, and accountants. Whether you operate nationwide or locally, Unbiased might become your go-to mortgage traffic source.
Here’s how the incoming enquiry looks in their system:
As a mortgage business, you can set your customised enquiry criteria – for example, the minimum mortgage level – so you only accept relevant leads. Likewise, you can manage all acquisition campaigns from a single dashboard.
The lead generation subscription plan costs £96 + VAT, with enquiries priced from £10 + VAT, depending on the type of lead: first-time homebuyers, self-employed mortgage leads, remortgage leads, commercial mortgage leads, mortgage protection leads, and more. The subscription also includes access to lead management tools and ongoing support from the platform’s team.
Here’s how mortgage lead generation works with Unbiased:
Adding locations to your profile can help with targeting—you will appear in searches in these locations and receive relevant enquiries.
Join Unbiased as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
345 | 2 | 53 | 0.45 | 34.45% | 47% | 0.63% | 12.24% | 0.23% | 3.93% |
The Pipeline is a dedicated mortgage lead generation platform that supplies quality leads starting from 50 leads per month, with the typical lead batch being 100 leads. Leads are purchased in advance and can be delivered to your CRM system or by any other convenient method.
Before signing up for The Pipeline, you can schedule a 20-minute call to discuss your marketing goals and growth opportunities.
Join The Pipeline as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
795 | 2 | 49 | 0.48 | 31.05% | 56% | 0.68% | 7.57% | 0.08% | 3.78% |
The Lead Engine is a UK-based digital marketing agency that drives mortgage leads to agents and brokers through SEO. The platform also ensures lead tracking, with around 33% of leads resulting in phone calls.
The unique feature of The Lead Engine is that they generate leads right on the agent’s website, which increases your brand awareness and reduces the sales cycle: the leads instantly land where you want them to, without redirects and potential delays that always lose some customers.
Here’s an example of the improvements they promise to make across your website:
Join The Lead Engine as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
1,203 | 2 | 54 | 0.53 | 31.08% | 56% | 0.68% | 7.58% | 0.08% | 3.76% |
Simply Online Leads is a UK-based lead generation company that provides exclusive mortgage, finance, home improvement, and insurance clients for businesses.
Here are the types of leads you can buy:
The loan-to-value (LTV) ratio is 95% for first-time buyers, 90% for purchase mortgage leads, 85% for remortgage leads, and 70% for buy-to-let mortgage leads.
Join Simply Online Leads as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
74,700 | 2 | 84 | 0.51 | 31.22% | 63% | 0.09% | 5.10% | 0.04% | 0.68% |
Online Mortgage Advisor is an online mortgage marketplace that connects mortgage seekers with brokers and allows the latter to buy qualified leads that match their specifications. On the broker’s side, all products are divided into “Residential,” “Residential Adverse,” and “Buy To Let” categories and include enquiries from those looking for mortgage loans or remortgage.
Likewise, all enquiries are separated into three tiers – Bronze, Silver, and Gold – that vary by the purchase intent and eligibility criteria like income, mortgage size, and loan-to-value. Qualification-wise, the platform automatically removes invalid phone numbers from enquiries.
The lion’s share of the enquiries are generated during working hours, but you can receive leads 24/7, including weekends. All leads come from on-site form submissions generated via SEO, social media marketing, and other campaigns.
Join Online Mortgage Advisor as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
17,728 | 2 | 153 | 0.57 | 37.12% | 53% | 0.45% | 7.25% | 0.13% | 2.21% |
Pronto is an online lead generation agency that supplies around 15 types of customers, including mortgage & debt, within a pay-per-lead or revenue-share partnership model.
Their mortgage leads are generated from various marketing channels, including social media and SEO, with the cost per lead starting at £6. All lead generation campaigns are compliant with the ASA and ICO.
When applying, you can choose what clients you are looking for – debt consolidation, remortgage, bad credit, or other – and also specify your target location and the number of appointments you’d like to receive weekly.
Join Pronto as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
1,044 | 2 | 32 | 0.54 | 21.85% | 46% | 0.67% | 27.20% | 0.07% | 3.69% |
Insite Web is a lead generation and management agency that supplies mortgage, insurance, financial advisor, solicitor, accountancy, locksmith, home security, and dental practice leads as well as customer tracking and marketing services.
The service works best for brokers who need 60 or more monthly high-intent mortgage leads and have a budget of at least £1,500. Insite Web’s lead generation capacity reaches 5,000 leads monthly and probably more, so large-scale brokers can also satisfy their needs.
Types of Mortgage Leads with Insite Web
Equity Release Leads | Home mover leads | Tracker mortgage leads |
Remortgage leads | First-time buyer mortgage leads | Interest-only mortgage leads |
Buy to let mortgage leads | 2nd charge mortgage leads | Low-high deposit mortgage leads |
Adverse mortgage leads | Contractor & freelancer leads | Unusual property mortgage leads |
Self-employed mortgage leads | Fixed-rate mortgage leads | Mortgage credit check leads |
However, you should note that Insite Web doesn’t sell leads but lead generation services, building an optimal sales funnel for your brand. This guarantees all acquired mortgage leads are exclusive and easier to convert.
Join Insite Web as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
2,481 | 2 | 42 | 0.51 | 17.27% | 31% | 0.42% | 48.62% | 0.05% | 2.55% |
Hello Clicks is a lead generation agency that drives mortgage and remortgage leads alongside over 20 other types of customers. All leads are pre-qualified and delivered through API, email, phone, or CRM system. Likewise, you can pre-schedule an appointment with a qualified lead.
Every sold lead is tracked so that Hello Clicks can constantly analyze customer journeys and adjust targeting specifically for your business. If you are unsatisfied with the lead you receive, you can get a full refund.
Join Hello Clicks as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
650 | 1 | 0 | 0.4 | 2.87% | 95% | 0.07% | 1.08% | 0.02% | 0.43% |
Mortgage Brokers Directory is a lead generation agency that offers mortgage, equity release, life insurance, and pension leads within two partnership models – scheduling appointments and listing your business on their platform.
To join MBD as a mortgage broker, contact them via their on-site live chat.
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
68,006 | 2 | 66 | 0.51 | 33.36% | 54% | 0.45% | 7.59% | 0.12% | 4.18% |
Fatrank is an agency that generates first-time mortgage leads, remortgage leads, buy-to-let mortgage leads, joint mortgage leads, and guarantor mortgage leads. The platform goes beyond lead generation and marketing, covering personal and business growth.
Join Fatrank as a mortgage broker
Monthly Visits | Page Per Visit | Time On Site | Bounce Rate | Direct Traffic | Search Traffic | Paid Referral Traffic | Referral Traffic | Mail Traffic | Social Traffic |
869 | 1 | 31 | 0.43 | 34.63% | 47% | 0.58% | 12.13% | 0.23% | 3.91% |
LeadCrowd is an online agency that generates exclusive real-time mortgage, commercial mortgage, and remortgage leads, among other financial and insurance customers. They use 24 websites, offer 46 types of leads, and boast a refund rate of less than 7%.
Here are the mortgage leads you can buy at LeadCrowd:
Residential mortgage & remortgage leads | Protection and insurance leads |
Buy-to-let mortgage leads | Borrowers with bad credit |
Commercial mortgage leads | Bringing loans and development finance |
Equity release and later-life lending leads | Specialist mortgage and other finance |
All leads are generated using SEO and PPC.
Here are their average costs per lead:
Join LeadCrowd as a mortgage broker
First of all, it’s worth noting that buying mortgage leads shouldn’t be the only marketing strategy you rely on. Organic traffic is still up for grabs as long as you have some online presence and time and skills to create compelling content for your blog, social media, and search engines.
However, there are two major disadvantages with organic leads:
Even though most brands invest in SEO, the truth is that only the best of the best succeed, while the rest don’t get the desired search exposure. Whether you like it or not, you will have to beat bigger guys to acquire free mortgage traffic.
However, the rules of the game change when you buy leads.
Here’s an example:
➥ A real estate customer stumbles upon a compelling mortgage article in their favourite real estate blog and decides to explore mortgage options. Then, they tap the click-to-call button to connect to a mortgage company.
In this scenario, a publisher uses their authority to generate traffic to the partner advertiser.
Lead generators and affiliate networks have evolved to the point where they can dissect potential customers on the fly and share essential details with advertisers before the purchase.
Such complexity led to the convenience of choosing among these mortgage lead types:
Live Transfer Mortgage Leads | Live transfer leads—usually phone calls—are connected to the lender’s sales agent in real-time without external competition. A qualified phone call from a high-intent borrower may cost £100 or more. |
Exclusive Mortgage Leads | Exclusive mortgage leads are contacts and phone calls sold exclusively to one company, eliminating competition. They may cost £10 to £50. |
Trigger Mortgage Leads | Trigger mortgage leads are contacts and phone calls that complete a target action, putting them in the market for a mortgage. For example, pulling a potential borrower’s credit record might be a trigger action. |
Shared Mortgage Leads | Shared leads are contacts sold to several competing companies. These leads are cheap, but you have to be able to snatch them from other brokers. |
Aged Mortgage Leads | Aged mortgage leads are borrowers who have been inactive for a while and need reengagement. They are cheap, but you usually need lots of them to drive conversions. |
In the real market, it’s even better: You can choose the demographics of the leads you buy: location, age, income, family status, and other marketable details.
Important: The depth to which you can set your buying criteria also depends on the lead generator. Make sure your traffic provider allows you to narrow it down to the clients you need.
As a broker, you can earn hundreds to thousands of pounds from a single mortgage, depending on your commission structure and the partner lender. Some mortgage brokers only charge their lenders – the so-called procurement fee – while others charge their borrowers.
The typical procurement fee is around 0.4% of the mortgage size; on a £300,000 loan, it would be £1,200. But if you also charge the borrower – and can get clients under this condition – you can double the income.
Likewise, brokers can charge a flat fee, which often ranges from £500 to £1,500.
Buying leads will make it much easier to acquire clients, but it’s still impossible to get a head start without deep industry knowledge. As an aspiring mortgage broker – even if you haven’t originated a single mortgage loan yet – you must first make sure you know the theory.
Here are some of the crucial parameters to shape your mortgage leads generation strategy:
First, ensure the mortgage leads you’re targeting seek the loan you’re providing. For example, customers taking out a mortgage loan to buy a house may differ from mortgage refinance leads in the loan size, length, and other conditions.
Here are some popular mortgage leads to target as a mortgage broker in the UK:
First-Time Homebuyers | First-time homebuyers are usually in their thirties, looking for extensive support throughout the acquisition process. They might have saved less for a down payment and therefore tend to choose more affordable homes. |
Remortgage Leads | Remortgage leads account for 16% to 44% of the mortgage market (depending on the property type). But you have to convince them that switching their mortgage plan is the right financial decision. |
Commercial Mortgage Leads | Underwriting a mortgage on shops, offices, industrial buildings, and other commercial property is more complex and riskier—involving a multi-level assessment of the borrower’s creditworthiness and compliance—yet also more profitable for the broker. |
Equity Release Leads | Equity release leads are usually older homeowners willing to use a portion of their equity to fund retirement. You need to consider their age, health, and family status to understand what mortgage plan they need. |
Buy-to-Let Leads | Investors buying a property to rent it out are mostly concerned about potential yields, risk mitigation, and exit strategy. These borrowers know the ropes, and you have to be on their level. |
Homebuyers Looking for Discounts | Homebuyers unable to buy a home on the open market might seek governmental programs like Help to Buy or Share Ownership. As a mortgage broker, you should provide these leads with access to local and state programs, discounts, and rebates. |
Bad Credit Leads | Customers with a history of CCJs, defaults, or bankruptcies require profound examination from a mortgage lender. However, these leads are usually cheaper and can result in higher commissions. |
Contractor Leads | Self-employed contractors with irregular incomes need a broker who fully understands their circumstances and can keep it all within the legal framework. |
The loan-to-value ratio indicates how much of the property’s value the mortgage company will finance (mortgage advance) and how much the borrower will pay on their own (down payment). For example, if the borrower purchases a home worth £300,000 while borrowing £240,000 and paying £60,000 as a down payment, the LTV is 80%.
Source: Statista
Here’s how LTV affects mortgage lead generation: The higher the LTV ratio, the riskier it is for the lender because the borrower has less equity to cover the loan. This means you need stringent lead generation criteria to ensure a reasonable risk-reward ratio.
All other things being equal, borrowers seek the lowest interest rate and the longest loan term.
Loan terms typically range from 10 to 30 years, with some lenders extending them to 40 and even 50 years under special circumstances.
Source: Statista
Just like borrowers are searching for the lowest interest rates, lenders are looking for customers with a lower debt-to-income ratio (DTI), a metric that, in fact, predicts whether the borrower is solvent. For example, if the mortgagor’s monthly debt payments are £1,000, and their monthly income is £3,000, the DTI would be 30%.
Source: Statista
The higher the credit score, the more reliable the borrower. But then again, depending on your acquisition strategy, you might want to focus on mortgagees with slightly lower credit scores to avoid competition and because they are cheaper.
Credit Score Scale Example
Excellent | Very Good | Good | Fair | Poor |
850-800 | 740-799 | 670-739 | 580-669 | 300-579 |
As a mortgage broker, you should always stay within reasonable limits: many borrowers with poor and fair credit scores will get denied by the lender.
Here are the average credit scores with three major credit reference UK agencies:
Mortgage amortisation—a breakdown of mortgage payments—determines how the borrower’s interest changes over time, the broker’s commission, and how much the borrower pays toward the principal and interest at every given period.
Here are some mortgage amortisation examples:
Mortgage closing costs are taxes, fees, and expenses associated with closing a mortgage deal, reaching 2% to 5% of the property’s price. In the UK, these also include SDLT tax, which is £0 on the first £250,000 and 5% to 12% on the exceeding amount, depending on the property’s value.
As a mortgage broker, finding a lender with lower closing fees can give you an edge.
To estimate the optimal number of leads to buy, you should transform your business goals – for example, net monthly profit – into the target number of monthly mortgage sales. For this, you need to know the average expected income per sale (it might be around £1,000 per sale).
Then, knowing your average conversion rates, you can calculate the number of leads to buy:
If you need to sell 200 mortgage plans per month to achieve your business goals, and your average conversion rate is 10%, then you need to buy 2,000 leads.
However, if you offer several mortgage products, you might want to add a traffic quality factor or reduce the expected conversion rate to make an educated guess.
Here’s the formula:
If you need to sell 200 mortgage plans per month to achieve your business goals, and you expect your leads to convert five times worse than usual – this might happen if you switch from, say, life transfer to aged leads – then you need 10,000 leads monthly.
But then again, this will only be a ballpark figure, which you can bring closer to reality by tracking your mortgage leads throughout their journey (and thus understanding them better).
From the moment the lead sees your ad, and until they connect to a live operator, they should ideally go through two qualification rounds:
Lead suppliers like affiliate networks and online marketplaces should allow you to set the qualification criteria for the leads you want to buy (for example, you might only accept first-time homeowners from London aged 34-55).
In practice, this is done with a lead distribution technology called a ping tree:
But you can take it even further. Some software – like Ping Post Calls 2.0 – shows the most essential information to the advertiser BEFORE the purchase, allowing mortgage companies to accept or decline the lead. This way, you can guarantee a perfect match.
If you buy heterogeneous leads, you don’t necessarily know where to connect them, which is why you may need some further qualification with, say, an IVR system:
At the end of the day, this multi-level lead qualification allows you to stay effective, only buying high-intent borrowers who are likely to take out a mortgage loan from your or your partner lender.
Buying leads means you don’t need to unroll marketing campaigns, but you can still get an edge if you track your leads along their conversion path, preferably from start to finish.
Here’s how this can be done based on your size and budget:
Here’s an example of a software for tracking web leads:
Here’s an example of a software for tracking phone calls:
And here we go again: you can take it even further by renting a cloud PBX system, a full-scale call centre that belongs solely to you (read full control and ironclad protection).
There’s a way to test the uncharted waters with no risk: predictive modelling.
Here’s how predictive modelling works:
The best thing is that as you accumulate more data, the algorithms become more accurate.
Successful lead acquisition campaigns require in-depth market research, customer tracking, and analytics, and it’s much easier to perform all these routines from one place without juggling between systems and reports.
This is what Phonexa does by uniting all essential lead management products under one roof. From affiliate to social media to email marketing, you get a 360-degree view of your business and full control over it.
Here are the eight solutions you get at only £250 per month (online price calculator):
LMS Sync | Lead tracking & distribution software |
Call Logic | Call tracking & distribution software |
E-Delivery | Bulk email & SMS marketing software |
Cloud PBX | Cloud phone system |
Lynx | Click tracking software |
Opt-Intel | Suppression list management software |
HitMetrix | User behaviour recording & analytics software |
Books360 | Automated accounting software |
Get your all-in-one performance marketing software suite now, or book a demo to learn more about Phonexa.
You can buy mortgage leads directly from lead generation companies or use listing and other paid opportunities to drive traffic to your brand.
You can get cheap mortgage leads from almost all mortgage lead generators, but these leads take more work to convert. For example, aged mortgage leads – disengaged customers – require effective re-engagement strategies.
You can get free mortgage leads from organic traffic channels like your website, blog, social media, forums, and search engines. However, organic lead acquisition takes time and profound expertise, and you cannot control the quality and intent of these leads.
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